Designing FMQ

As I get better at free motion quilting (FMQ) I find myself putting more time and effort into designing my projects. This is interesting and exciting because I was never really able to put a lot of creativity into my other loves, knitting and spinning. I love knitting and spinning but I always just followed patterns for knitting and never did anything super funky with my spinning.

I love that some of the FMQ projects I’m working on can be considered original designs. I’m not saying they’re any good but they are mine. 🙂 

Here’s a picture of what I’m currently working on. It will be a pillow for my brother. I’m trying to put a more modern slant on it and I’m using colors he requested. I basically just made a bunch of half square triangles and played with them until I liked it. I’m definitely still working on this design.

Do you design your own things?

Do you have any particular design processes that you follow?

  

  

Leave a comment